Principal Investigator

Graduate Students

Undergraduate Students

Visiting Researchers

Honorary Junior Member


  • Kevin (Yifan) Zhu (MS, May 2018)
  • Christopher Hall (MS, December 2017)
  • Xinyu Gao (PhD visiting scholar, 2017)
  • Xuodian Hu (undergraduate researcher, 2016-2017)
  • Omar Alqahtani (undergraduate research scholar, 2016-17)
  • Viet Vo (undergraduate research scholar, 2016-17)
  • Anuj Gadiyar (MS, Spring 2017), FPGA Development.
  • John Brady (MS 2013, PhD 2017), New Transceiver Architectures and Prototypes for Millimeter-Wave MIMO Wireless Communication Systems.
  • Xianglu (Luke) Li, Visiting Scholar, September 2015-Jan 2017.
  • John Hogan (MS, May 2016). Beamspace MIMO Channel Estimation. Wireless Modem Design Engineer, Intel, Bay Area.
  • Usman Tayyab (visitor, Feb-July 2016). Channel measurements.
  • Sabareesh Ganapthy (MS, Spring 2016). FPGA development.
  • Peng Cheng (UG, Spring 2016). Channel measurements and processing.
  • Yifan Zhu (UG, Fall 2015). Visiting student.
  • Sida Li (UG, Summer 2015). FPGA development.
  • Wasim Sheikh (MS, Jan 2015-Aug 2015). FPGA development.
  • Justin Cummings (MS, Fall 2014-Summer 2015). Lens array design. Nuclear Systems/Control Engineering, US Department of Defense.
  • Kishore Kumar  (MS, Fall 2014 independent study).
  • David Virgilio  (REU, undergrad, Summer 2013-Nov 2014). FPGA development.
  • Paul Thomas MS (June 2014). CAP-MIMO prototype RF hardware design.
  • Hua Deng (MS, August 2014). User localization using channel signatures. PhD student at Rutgers University.
  • Jon Lima (2014).
  • Gi Hong Song (MS, August 2012).  Beamspace MIMO Transceiver Design. Qualcomm.
  • Matt Malloy, (Ph.D, December 2012). Noncoherent Detection in Sparse Multipath. Commscope.
  • Yanpei Liu (M.S., 2011). Secret Keys from OFDM Channel Signatures.
  • Tzu-Han Chou (PhD, August 2011),  Thesis: Secret Key Generation From Excited Source and Its Application to Reciprocal Wireless Channel. Staff Engineer, Qualcomm, San Diego.
  • Eunmo Kang (PhD, May 2010). Thesis: Narrowband-MIMO and MIMO-OFDM Systems: Exploiting Channel Statistics for Efficient Use of Feedback. Qualcomm.
  • Waheed Bajwa, (PhD, Aug 2009). Thesis: New Information Processing Theory and Methods for Exploiting Sparsity in Wireless Systems. Assistant Professor, Rutgers.
  • Thiagarajan Sivanadyan, (MS, 2008).  Active Wireless Sensing. Senior Engineer, Qualcomm, Boulder, CO.
  • Dr. Michail Matthaiou, postdoctoral visitor, July-August 2009. MIMO Wireless Systems.  Senior Lecturer at Queen’s University, Belfast.
  • Steven Quick (MS, Aug 2008). Accenture.
  • Gautham Hariharan, (PhD, December 2007). Thesis: Wireless Communication Over Sparse Multipath Channels. Qualcomm, Bay Area.
  • Prof. Chang-Heon Oh, Korea University of Technology and Education, Visiting Scholar, 2006-2007.
  • Vasanthan Raghavan (PhD, August 2006). Thesis: Spatially Correlated Multi-antenna Wireless Channels: Capacity and Limited Feedback Performance. Staff Engineer, Qualcomm, Bridgewater, NJ.
  • Yan Zhou (PhD, August 2006). Thesis: Optimized Transceiver Design for Multiantenna Wireless Communications. Staff Engineer, Qualcomm, San Diego.
  • Ke Liu (PhD, August 2004). Thesis: Capacity and Coding for Realistic MIMO Channels. (Peterson Award Winner). Patent Agent and Engineer at Qualcomm, San Diego.
  • Jayesh Kotecha, postdoc (2002-2004). MIMO Channel Estimation; Classification in Sensor Networks. Senior Member of Technical Staff, Freescale Semiconductors, Austin, TX.
  • Ashwin D’Costa (MS, May 2004). Distributed Decision Making in Wireless Sensor Networks. Technical Account Manager, Qualcomm, San Diego.
  • Vinod Ramachandran (MS, May 2004). Distributed Detection in Sensor Networks. Product Manager, Facebook, Bay Area.
  • Zhihong Hong, postdoc (2002-2003). Space-Time Coding. Research Scientist, Communications Research Center, Ottawa, Canada.
  • Charlie (Jianzhong) Zhang (PhD, May 2003). Thesis: Space-Time Selective Broadcast and Receiver Algorithms for Frequency Selective MIMO Systems. VP at Samsung Research America.
  • Karina Carvalho (MS, May 2002). Time-varying Channel Estimation.
  • Thomas Deckert (MS, August 2002). MIMO Channel Modeling. Systems Design Engineer, National Instruments, Dresden, Germany.
  • Kerry Wong (MS, June 2001). Collaborative Signal Processing in Sensor Networks. Software Architect, Insurity.
  • Kraiyut Tantinarawat (MS, June 2001). Networking protocols for MIMO.
  • Tamer Kadous (PhD, May 2001). Thesis: Multiuser Communication Over Time and Frequency Selective Channels. Senior Director of Engineering, Qualcomm, San Diego.
  • Ashwin Ganesan (MS, September 2000). Wireless Transceiver Design.
  • Eko Onggosanusi, (PhD, December 2000). Thesis: Space-Time Signaling Schemes and Receiver Algorithms for Wideband Communication Systems. Director of Standards, Samsung Research America.
  • Marc-Antoine Baissas (MS, December 1999). Time-varying Channel Estimation. Independent consultant.
  • Jean-Paul Gallaire (MS, August 1998).  Time-Frequency Detectors. Marketing Director of Fiber at Orange, Paris, France.
  • S. Bhashyam (MS, August 1997, Rice U.). Time-Selective Signaling. Professor, IIT Madras, India.